Talking to a friend last week she took me by surprise in asking, ‘Tim, what makes you happy?’ After a pause for reflection, off the top of my head I came up with a list:  Music, Reading, Performing, Teaching, spending time with my kids and grandkids, the closeness of one or two very special friends. If asked the same question what would your list be?


There are right times on our lives for different tasks, in fact everything has its time.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-11 Everything Has Its Time

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:
a time to be born, and a time to die;
a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;
a time to kill, and a time to heal;
a time to break down, and a time to build up;
a time to weep, and a time to laugh;
a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
a time to throw away stones, and a time to gather stones together;
a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;
a time to seek, and a time to lose;
a time to keep, and a time to throw away;
a time to tear, and a time to sew;
a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
a time to love, and a time to hate;
a time for war, and a time for peace.

So, I have decided to move on from this job of Rector! Retirement looms. But it is the right time? Yes, I believe it is. I may be mistaken but think there is a still a little feeling around of leaving them wanting more! But what does the future hold? I would quite like to be a bus driver. We shall see.


But more importantly I want to make ongoing changes to me. This year and every year I want to be more like Jesus. A colleague (Tim Hastie-Smith) posted this last week on social media. I love it:


This year I want to me be more like Jesus.


Hang out with sinners.


Upset religious people.


Tell stories that make people think.


Choose unpopular friends


Be kind, loving and merciful.


Take naps on boats.   


It is always the right time for that!